Australian National University

ANU was established by the Chifley government in 1946 to build the nation’s intellectual infrastructure. ANU is still driven by its founding mission to advance the cause of learning and research in Australia and take its place amongst the great universities of the world. Explore this gateway to find out more about ANU’s history, governance and structure, the ANU campus and the ANU community.

The ANU is consistently Australia’s top ranked university in national and global rankings. In 2010, the Times Higher Education supplement ranked the ANU as the 20th best university in the world, and top in Australia.

For more information, see:


Asialink is Australia’s leading centre for the promotion of public understanding of the countries of Asia and of Australia’s role in the region. The organisation is a key provider of information, training and professional networks.

Asialink is a non-academic centre of The University of Melbourne and an initiative of the Myer Foundation. Asialink’s mission is to work with business, government, philanthropic and cultural partners to initiate and strengthen Australia Asia engagement. Asialink excels in “soft diplomacy” – delivering high-level forums, international collaborations, leadership training, education, community health and cultural programs in Australia and Asia.

For more information, see:

Capital M

Capital M offers diners an unforgettable combination of delicious, simply good food that is a collection of classics and nostalgic favourites; an iconic view of Beijing; a stunning ambience and warm service. Located on what has been Beijing’s most celebrated shopping street for over 600 years – Qianmen Street – Capital M is perfectly positioned for a breathtaking view of the city’s heart. Whether from our terrace or our gorgeous interior, diners enjoy a view that unfolds from the Forbidden City to Qianmen Gate, including Tian’anmen Square.

For more information, see:

Australian Centre on China in the World / 中华全球研究中心

The Australian Centre on China in the World (CIW) is a research institution established to enhance the existing capabilities of The Australian National University (ANU). It aims to be an integrated, world-leading institution for Chinese Studies and the understanding of China, or what has been called ‘Greater China’ or the ‘Chinese Commonwealth’ (the People’s Republic of China, the Hong Kong and Macau Special Administrative Regions, as well as Taiwan and the Chinese diaspora), on a global scale.

For more information, see:

Department of State Development, Business and Innovation

The Department of State Development, Business and Innovation is the Victorian Government’s lead agency for the promotion and facilitation of the State’s economic development.

The Department develops and implements a diverse range of programs, initiatives and projects designed to attract and facilitate investment, encourage exports, generate job opportunities, stimulate innovation, and promote Victoria nationally and internationally.

Foundation for Australian Studies in China

The Foundation is an independent non-profit foundation in Australia established to support Australian Studies Centres located across China and to provide funding and other support to the BHP Billiton Chair of Australian Studies located at Peking University in Beijing, People’s Republic of China.

New Oriental / 新东方

As the largest provider of private educational services in China, New Oriental offers education for a lifetime, teaching skills that give students a crucial competitive advantage in the workplace and help improve their quality of life. Our wide range of educational programs, services and products includes English and other foreign language training, overseas and domestic test preparation courses, all-subjects after school tutoring, primary and secondary school education, educational content and software as well as online education.

New Oriental has become the most recognized brand in Chinese private education. Based on founder Michael Yu’s groundbreaking vision, our innovative and inspirational instruction combines humorous, interactive teaching techniques with traditional Chinese educational values.

Since our founding in 1993, New Oriental has had over 13 million student enrollments, including approximately 2.4 million enrollments in fiscal year 2012. Today, we have a network of 55 schools, 664* learning centers, 32 New Oriental bookstores and over 5,000 third-party bookstores and over 17,600 teachers in 49 cities, as well as an online network with over 7.8 million registered users.

Rio Tinto

Rio Tinto is a leading international mining group, combining Rio Tinto plc, a London listed public company headquartered in the UK, and Rio Tinto Limited, which is listed on the Australian Stock Exchange, with executive offices in Melbourne. The two companies are joined in a dual listed companies (DLC) structure as a single economic entity, called the Rio Tinto Group.

To deliver superior returns to shareholders over time, Rio Tinto takes a long term and responsible approach to the Group’s business. This means concentrating on the development of first class orebodies into large, long life and efficient operations, capable of sustaining competitive advantage through business cycles. We are a world leader in finding, mining and processing the Earth’s mineral resources. Our products help fulfil vital consumer needs and improve living standards. We operate, and eventually close, our operations safely, responsibly and sustainably.

Rio Tinto’s interests are diverse both in geography and product. We work in some of the world’s most difficult terrains and climates. Most of our assets are in Australia and North America, but we also operate in Europe, South America, Asia and Africa. Our businesses include open pit and underground mines, mills, refineries and smelters as well as a number of research and service facilities.

Rio Tinto operate as a global organisation, sharing best practices across the Group. Our values – accountability, respect, teamwork and integrity – are expressed through our business principles, policies and standards. We set these out in our worldwide code of business conduct, The way we work. Our values underpin the way we manage the economic, social and environmental effects of our operations, and how we govern our business.

Wherever Rio Tinto operates, health and safety is the first priority. All our Group businesses put sustainable development at the heart of their operations, working as closely as possible with host countries and communities, respecting their laws and customs. For Rio Tinto it is important that the environmental effects of its activities are kept to a minimum and that local communities benefit as much as possible from operations.

For more information, see